| 14/04/09 | Copyright Theft - Update |
|
RESULT! Our completed Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) form was sent to Bluehost.com this morning, and this afternoon we were advised by them that they have suspended 6886.co.uk! Impressively quick! |
|
| 13/04/09 | Copyright Theft - Update |
|
Bluehost.com has now been in touch (9/04/09) and sent a Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) form. We'll see how this goes. |
|
| 09/04/09 | Copyright Theft - Update |
|
No response from the scumbag, Mr Wang. Nor from his host company, Bluehost.com. We assume they are simply not interested in copyright theft, or perhaps they feel the rights of their criminal client are more important than those of a foreigner? The only reply we've had is from the registrar Enom.com's parent company, Demand Media, who quickly wrote to establish their distance from the issue and won't respond to any further requests for information (despite finishing their email: "Feel free to contact us at copyright@demandmedia.com if you have any additional questions or concerns."). What a bunch of low-lifes! The only thing that seems likely to make a difference is publicity, so if you want to blog, tweet, etc, please do. |
|
| 06 April 2009 | Copyright Theft |
|
We have been alerted to a website called 6886.co.uk (ip: 69.89.31.80) which appears to have simply copied the entire Travel-Lists site back in 2007 and re-published it, replacing our name with theirs. The whois details for 6886.co.uk are here. We have today contacted the nameserver host (bluehost.com), and the registrar (enom.com), requesting them to close the site and supply contact details for Mr Minchao Wang who we formerly request to cease & desist using our copyrighted material. |
|
| 18 Feb 2007 | Password Requests |
|
Once again some scumbag somewhere (hopefully facing some jail time one day) is passing himself off as Travel-Lists.co.uk. If you are being plagued with password requests from a "travel-lists.co.uk" server - IE. 401: Authorisation Required errors - we are sorry, and just as frustrated & impotent as you. Our site went offline for a couple of hours yesterday and our stats recorded 17,034 x '401 Errors' which makes us suspect that we, or our hosts, were the victims of a 'bot' attack. It could be that your (infected) machine was one of the bots. NB: Travel-Lists has no password protected access, no mass email routines and no lists of email addresses. We NEVER EVER send marketing emailshots. So if you think you've been sent an email* from Travel-Lists.co.uk ..... you haven't! * Unless you have paid online for a site review in which case you will receive one automated receipt by email, followed by one confirmation email (manual) telling you whether your site was approved or not, and then nothing ever again. |
|